Four Major Components of ADA Compliance For Websites

It’s important for businesses today to ensure that their websites are ADA compliant. This not only ensures that people with disabilities can easily use and access content on your website but also protects your company from the possibility of being sued for not catering to the needs of people with disabilities.

ADA guidelines on how to ensure compliance are yet to be finalized. In the meantime, companies are encouraged to apply the guidelines outlined by the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0). These guidelines provide standards for compliance under four major categories.

Progressive web apps offer various advantages:

1. Perceivable
This helps ensure that the content on your website can be used by all who access it. This may include adding captions to videos, designing the website to allow for the use of larger fonts or even using high contrast to make the content more legible.

2. Operable
These guidelines help to ensure that the website does not cause problems for the user when operating it. This includes ensuring the website can be navigated using a keyboard or making it possible for users to be able to slow down moving sections if they need more time.

This deals with the website’s language and functionality. Both ought to be logical. For example, the navigation of the website should be consistent throughout the website.

4. Robust
These guidelines ensure that the website’s code is robust and can therefore be understood by assistive readers. Basically, the website’s code should be up to the current standards for websites. For example, websites should use HTML tags that are recognized universally by available browsers. The website’s code should also validate the HTML tags to ensure they can be recognized by readers.


Call now at +866-WEB-COLA and Talk To Us Today!

We truly care about our clients.